National News

Dangerfield claims 2016 Brownlow

Patrick Dangerfield has been rewarded for an astonishing first season with Geelong, winning AFL's 2016 Brownlow Medal with an all-time high vote tally.

Dangerfield gathered 35 votes, ensuring there was no upset for the shortest-priced favourite in recent memory.

The runaway winner was judged best afield nine times to finish nine votes clear of runner-up Luke Parker of Sydney, with Richmond's Dustin Martin a vote further back.

Dangerfield adds the award to his AFL Players Association and AFL Coaches Association gongs, becoming the first man since Gary Ablett to win all three major prizes.

The 26-year-old left Adelaide, who drafted him in 2007, for Geelong at the end of last season to be closer to his home town of Moggs Creek.

While the Cats failed to progress to a grand final in his first year at Simonds Stadium, falling to Sydney in last Friday's preliminary final, Dangerfield has claimed the highest individual honour in the game.

After receiving the award on Monday night at Crown Casino, he paid tribute to past and present teammates, and the club culture.

"I don't think any individual that ever stands up here, stands up here just because of themselves," he said.

"It is a collaborative effort from previously Adelaide and now Geelong.

"(Playing at Geelong) has been a recipe for success and a recipe for enjoyment.

"It's a pretty serious business, AFL footy, but I think the link between enjoying life outside of footy, putting in the hard work ... Geelong has got the balance as good as anyone."

Dangerfield's nine, three-vote games ties the record set by previous winners Nat Fyfe (2015) and Greg Williams (1994).

He also polled in more matches - 15 - than any previous winner.

His stellar season began with a best-afield showing against premiers Hawthorn, and continued to soar.

The 26-year-old tallied an incredible 48 possessions during a round 12 match against North Melbourne.

Dangerfield surpasses Dane Swan's tally of 34 votes set in 2011 as the most polled under the 3-2-1 system.

South Melbourne's Graham Teasdale won the 1977 prize with 59 votes when two senior umpires awarded votes.

© AAP 2016

You may also like...

AFL Rising Star – Round 21

AFL Rising Star – Round 21

A 21-possession effort in Port Adelaide’s 27-point win over Collingwood has been enough to earn Dan Houston the AFL’s Rising Star...

Has Launceston had enough of the Hawks?

Has Launceston had enough of the Hawks?

The first ever Tasmanian derby between the Hawks and the Kangaroos attracted 14,509 spectators.However, negative comments on social media have led...

Fairsy asks: What TV show have you watched every episode of?

Fairsy asks: What TV show have you watched every episode of?

We all like to head home after a long day, put our feet up, and delve into our favourite TV shows. But if we aren’t careful, our busy lives can...

Benji has lots left in his Tigers NRL tank

Benji has lots left in his Tigers NRL tank

Benji Marshall during a Brisbane Broncos training session in Brisbane, Tuesday, August 8, 2017. (AAP Image/Dave Hunt) Wests Tigers' legend Benji...